From The Official Website for Mark Eitzel & American Music Club
Revision as of 18:00, 28 December 2017 by Amc-admin (talk | contribs) (External links)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
Background information
Origin Seattle, Washington, USA
Years active 1996 (1996)–present
Associated acts R.E.M., The Minus 5, Critters Buggin, The Chills, Screaming Trees
Website www.tuatara.com
Members Peter Buck
Barrett Martin
Justin Harwood
Scott McCaughey
Steve Berlin
Mike Stone

Tuatara is a Seattle-based instrumental music group featuring members of R.E.M., The Minus 5, Critters Buggin, The Chills and Screaming Trees.


The band was formed in 1996 by R.E.M.'s Peter Buck (guitar), Barrett Martin of Screaming Trees (drums and percussion), Justin Harwood of Luna and The Chills (bass guitar, double bass), and Skerik of Critters Buggin (saxophones). The band was named, at Harwood's suggestion, after a reptile from his native New Zealand.

Originally a project to get musician friends some soundtrack work, the project evolved into an active band, doing occasional live shows, and recording their first album Breaking the Ethers, encompassing a sound influenced by various styles of music, from Lebanese and Asian music to more traditional Western folk music.

The band expanded in 1998, adding guitarist Scott McCaughey on guitar, Steve Berlin on saxophone and flute, Craig Flory on clarinets and saxophones, Elizabeth Pupo-Walker on congas and other percussion, and Mike Stone on drums; with Stone now on drums, Barrett Martin focused more on vibes and marimba. This expanded line-up released Trading With the Enemy, which added more exotic instrumentation while sticking to the familiar formula of borrowing from a variety of styles.

The band had eleven members at the time of 2001's Cinemathique, which was intended to fulfill the original desire of creating music for soundtracks. A remix album, The Loading Program, was released in 2003.

McCaughey and Buck are also permanent members of The Minus 5, and Martin has contributed to their performances and recordings as well.

Tuatara released a new double album on August 15, 2014 called Underworld which featured Mike McCready of Pearl Jam.[1]

Involvement with Mark Eitzel

Mark Eitzel co-wrote and sings on the track "A Spark In The Wind" from Tuatara's 2007 album, 'East Of The Sun.


  1. "Pearl Jam and REM side-project Tuatura announce new album". Complete Music. Retrieved 19 June 2014. 

External links