From The Official Website for Mark Eitzel & American Music Club
Jump to: navigation, search
Background information
Origin Athens, Greece
Years active 1997 (1997)
Members Akis Boyatzis
Akis Boyatzis
Theodore Pistiolas

Sigmatropic is an Athens-based band that formed in 1997 when Akis Boyatzis, their founding member, left the new wave-power punk persona of the early ’80s bands Cpt. Nefos and Libido Blume and pitched his music machine in the field of computer-based electronica. The band, a one-man project shaped around a home studio, soon transformed into a full indie-rock band with intense concert and record activity that received many distinctions in Greece and abroad.

From the early days of Random Walk (1998) until today, Sigmatropic are in a constant creative search through their music. Their sole Greek-speaking album so far, Sixteen Haiku & Other Stories (2002), consisting of music, atmospheres and songs based entirely on poems of Nobel laureate George Seferis, came as a surprise and received praising reviews. The international version of the album released in 2003 hosts 18 guest artists from the US and the UK, who deliver their own vocal interpretation to an English translation of the poems over the same music. The album received outstanding reviews wherever it was released. The track “Haiku 10" featuring Cat Power has been very successful on iTunes in the US, while the participation of Robert Wyatt on the opening track of the album evoked admiration and awe from music lovers around the world.

In 2005 they participated in the production and songwriting of Carla Torgerson’s (The Walkabouts vocalist) first solo album, entitled Saint Stranger.

All these years they have performed numerous times in various venues all over Greece, they have participated in many festivals such as The Rockwave Festival (1998 και 2005), European Music Day (Athens 2004, 2006) and The Antiracist Festival (2007) and they have opened for Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds and Placebo concerts in Athens and Thessaloniki.

Their latest album Dead Computer Blues was released on Inner Ear in November 2014.

Involvement with Mark Eitzel

Mark Eitzel provided vocals on "Haiku Nine (Young Fate)" from Sigmatropic's 2003 album, Sixteen Haiku & Other Stories.